All information about Dolby? What is Dolby Atmos? 

In real life, you may have heard Dolby somewhere and basically, Dolby is a sound system developed by Dolby laboratory and it is generally used in Cinemas, Online service providers like Netflix and Amazon prime video.

There are various types of Dolby systems in which mostly used is Dolby Digital, and it's upgraded version is Dolby Digital Plus and latest is Dolby Atmos. We will discuss this in detail in this blog fully and at last, you will know everything about Dolby.

1. Dolby Digital

Dolby Digital is developed by Dolby laboratory and it is the most common use and mainly used in cinema halls to give surround sound and it enhances the audio quality and even makes you engage like that you are in the movie. In cinema halls, you may have seen it.

It consists of 6 channels in which one is a centre speaker one from which usually sound of dialogue comes and 2 speakers which are placed left and right to the centre speaker to make hear the sound of anything that is moving left and right. Then two speakers at the back of you which gives you a surround sound experience and one woofer box are there through which gets bass and treble.

The setup which I explained above is the standard set up of 5.1 Surround sound and if you want to access Dolby digital at home you will need a Dolby Digital compatible receiver and also the 5 1 channel for surround sound and next question arises that where is Dolby Digital content available.

The content also is available that Netflix support 5.1 and Amazon prime video also support but you will need fire TV stick to access it. In Normal DVD and in Bluray DVD. Some games also support 5.1 surround sound.

2. Dolby Digital Plus

Dolby Digital Plus is generally the upgraded version of Dolby Digital and it supports 7.1 Surround sound and basic configuration is the same that one Center speaker and one at left and other at right and 2 speakers at the back and new thing in this is that two more speakers are included one at left and other at right. It gives you more clear and good audio quality and much more immersive feel and it can supports 15 channel.

3. Dolby Atmos

Dolby Atmos is the latest version of Dolby and brings all-new great things like object-based sound, 3D audio and 360-degree audio which means that more realistic sound and it will feel that you are in the movie because of that surround sound it provides and it supports 128 channel and more speakers can be applied on roof to give a realistic experience and it is specially designed for cinema only.

If you want to use it in our home you can use it because it supports 7.1.4 and 7.2.4 channel which means 7 speakers, 1 woofer and 4 speakers at the top in 7.1.4 and in the 7.2.4 means 7 speakers, 2 woofers and 4 speakers at the top.

Its content is less and in future, it will come and some films are also shot in Dolby Atmos and Netflix, Amazon prime video also has content in Dolby Atmos.

Now you may also have heard Dolby Atmos in Mobile which means that when you have headphones that support Dolby you will get a 3d audio and surround sound like an experience in headphones and many phones also come with Dolby Atmos and you can experience only when you have headphones.






©2019 by ReTech.